Department of English

Creative Writing Minor


Mr. Mark Whitaker, Director (Fiction)
Dr. Biljana D. Obradovic (Poetry, Translation; Faculty Advisor, New Voices - Xavier's undergraduate journal) ADD
Mr. James Shade (Playwriting, Screenwriting)
Ms. Katheryn Laborde (Creative Nonfiction)

Required Courses for the Creative Writing Minor

Creative Writing Minor - click here for details

The 2014-16 catalogue is available online; scroll down to p. 130 for the Creative Writing minor. A complete list of courses can be found on pages 270-1.

Reading Series

Director: Dr. Biljana D. Obradovic

Xavier University's Literary Reading Series has included...

Amiri Baraka, Jerry McGuire, Darrel Bourque, Reginald McKnight, Erna Brodber, Patrice Melnick, Jericho Brown, Ethelbert Miller, Paula Closen Buck, Lenard Duane Moore, Maxine Cassin, Lupenga Mphande, Christopher Chambers, Kay Murphy, Richard Collins, Niyi Osundare, Philip Dacey, Michele Pichon, Joel Dailey, Domnica Radulescu, Toi Derricotte, Hilda Raz, Gregory Donovan, R. Flowers Rivera, Nikky Finney, Mona Lisa Saloy, Michael Harper, Marcia Southwick, Terrance Hayes, Henry Taylor, Charles Fort, Gloria Wade-Gayles, John Gery, Patricia A. Ward, Major Jackson, Bruce Weigl, Allison Joseph, Xiaobin Yang, Agymah Kwadwo Kamau, Leo Luke Marcello and many others! 

In addition, writers from the Calalloo Creative Writing Outreach to HBCUs group visited the campus, leading workshops that were attended by 20 students.

Xavier Student Awards for Creative Writing Our program offers several awards each semester which are monetary, but students who enter these contests may be published in our student magazine, New Voices.

The Truman Capote Literary Trust Awards

The Truman Capote Literary Trust has been the program's major benefactor for over a decade, providing two and now three annual scholarships, which used to be less, but now is $13,000 to continuing Xavier students. Scholarship winners are chosen on the merit of manuscripts, by a judge who is a professional creative writer and who has no affiliation with Xavier University. Past judges have included Toi Derricote, Percival Everette, John Gery, Mona Lisa Saloy, Lorenzo Thomas, Kay Murphy, and John Hppenthaler. The Trust also supports the graduate writing programs at The University of Iowa, Stanford University, The University of Alabama, and Rutgers University.

Recent Creative Writing Alumni Successes:

We are proud that several of our Creative Writing graduates went on to M.F.A. and Ph.D. programs:

*Ashanti Anderson
*Kayla Rodney received an MFA in Creative Writing 2015 from San Diego State University, has been accepted to a Ph.D. program in English  at University of Florida, Gainesville.
*Troy Baham went to Texas to pursue his MFA in Creative Writing Poetry.
*Kristina Robinson completed her MFA in Creative Writing/Poetry at the University of New Orleans.
*Miranda Bradford went to Hollands for an MFA.
*Danielle Littlefield went to Sarah Lawrence for an MFA.
*Jonathan Moody received an MFA in poetry at the University of Pittsburgh. 
*Jamila Smith received an MFA in Children's and Adolescent Literature at Chatham University, and is now doing a Ph.D.

Recent Books by Creative Writing Alumni (If you are an alumni please let Dr. Obradovic know about your new publication at

Jonathan Moody. Olympic Butter Gold. Evanston: TriQuarterly/Northwestern University Press, 2014. Print.

Jonathan Moody. The Doomy Poems. Six Gallery Press, 2012. Print.